Albuquerque Isotopes Baseball Unofficial Web Page

Albuquerque Professional Baseball
Hall of Fame

The Albuquerque Isotopes baseball club established the Albuquerque Professional Baseball Hall of Fame (APBHOF) in 2007 as part of the 2007 Triple-A All-Star Fiesta, the events related to and including the 20th Annual Triple-A All-Star Game at Isotopes Park.

The APBHOF honors professional baseball players, managers, coaches, clubs, executives, and media that have contributed to the legacy of baseball in Albuquerque.

APBHOF plaques can be viewed by going to McKernan Hall at Isotopes Park.

The Hall of Famers:

1981 Albuquerque Dukes (2008)
Bolack, Tom (2008)
Crandall, Del (2008)
Lasorda, Tommy (2007)
Kailer, J.D. (2008)
Martin, Herschel (2008)
Marshall, Mike (2008)
McKernan, Pat (2008)
McMullen, John (2008)

Hall of Fame Member Capsules:

2007 Class

Tommy Lasorda - Manager - inducted July 11, 2007 at the Triple-A All-Star Luncheon

Lasorda managed the 1972 Albuquerque Dukes to a 92-56 (.622) record and a Pacific Coast League Championship in the Dukes' first season as a Triple-A franchise. The following year, Lasorda joined the Dodgers as a coach then took over as manager from 1976-1996, winning World Series titles in 1981 and 1988.

Lasorda had a three year big league career (1954-1956), playing two of those seasons with the Brooklyn Dodgers. Lasorda went 0-4 with a save, walked 56 and struck out 37 and had a 6.48 ERA in 58.1 innings of major league pitching.

2008 Class

A committee of 14 Albuquerque baseball experts selected the following inductees:

Del Crandall - Manager - Inducted July 23, 2008 (Dukes Retro Night) at Isotopes Park

Crandall managed the Double-A Texas League Albuquerque Dodgers in 1969 and 1970, compiling a 150-121 (.554) record and winning a Texas League championship in 1970. Crandall was the skipper when the Albuquerque Dodgers moved from Tingley Field to the new 10,500 seat Albuquerque Sports Stadium in 1969.

Crandall returned to Albuquerque to manage the Triple-A Pacific Coast League Albuquerque Dukes for five full seasons (1978-1982) and part of another season (1983). Crandall resigned his manager position with the Dukes 75 games into the 1983 season to become manager of the Seattle Mariners. Just over a year later, the Mariners fired Crandall. Crandall had a 471-314 (.600) record with the Dukes, winning a Co-Championship in 1978 and outright PCL Championship titles in 1980, 1981 and 1982.

Crandall's major league experience mostly consisted of playing with the Boston Braves and Milwaukee Braves clubs in a 16-season career with a two year break for Korean War service (1949-1950, 1953-1966). Crandall hit .254 for his career with 179 homers and 657 RBI in 1,573 games and was an eight time National League All-Star and a four time Gold Glove winner.

Pat McKernan - Executive - Inducted posthumously July 23, 2008 (Dukes Retro Night) at Isotopes Park

McKernan was a General Manager for the Triple-A Albuquerque Dukes from 1979-2000 (until the Albuquerque franchise was sold and moved to Portland). McKernan was a three-time Pacific Coast League Executive of the Year. During the 2000 Baseball Winter Meetings in Dallas, TX, McKernan was given the "King of Baseball Award". McKernan passed away July 10, 2001 after a long battle with cancer.

1981 Albuquerque Dukes - Club - Inducted July 23, 2008 (Dukes Retro Night) at Isotopes Park

Del Crandall managed the 1981 Triple-A Albuquerque Dukes to a 94-38 record (.712) and the Dukes swept the Tacoma Tigers 3 games to none to win the Pacific Coast League Championship. The Dukes even defeated their parent club Los Angeles Dodgers 1-0 in an exhibition game in Los Angeles after the Major League mid-season strike was settled.

Among some of the players on the 1981 Dukes squad were catcher Don Crow; infielders Mike Marshall, Jack Perconte, Gary Weiss, and Larry Fobbs; outfielders Rudy Law, Candy Maldonado, Ron Roenicke, Tack Wilson and Bobby Mitchell; and pitchers Brian Holton, Ricky Wright, Ted Power, Alejandro Pena, Brent Strom, Kevin Keefe, Dave Patterson, Steve Shirley, and Bill Swiacki. The 1981 Dukes led the PCL in batting average (.325), runs (875), hits (1,393), RBI (774), stolen bases (281), walks (642), and slugging percentage (.467). The pitching staff compiled a fourth league-best team ERA of 4.25.

The 1981 Dukes are considered one of the best teams ever in Minor League Baseball and several Dukes earned 1981 The Sporting News awards - Mike Marshall won the Minor League Player of the Year, manager Del Crandall was named the Minor League Manager of the Year, and General Manager Pat McKernan was named the Minor League Executive of the Year.

Mike Marshall - Player - Inducted July 23, 2008 (Dukes Retro Night) at Isotopes Park

Marshall was a key player on the 1981 Triple-A Albuquerque Dukes club. Marshall was named to the Pacific Coast League All-Star team, hit for the cycle on July 30, 1981 against the Tucson Toros and ended the season leading the PCL in batting (.373), home runs (34) and RBI (137), winning the Triple Crown. Marshall was named the Minor League Player of the Year by the The Sporting News and by Baseball America in 1981.

Marshall made his major league debut with the Dodgers after the 1981 Albuquerque season ended, hitting .200 in 14 games. Marshall began the 1982 season in Albuquerque, batting .388 with 14 homers and 58 RBI in 66 games before rejoining the Dodgers.

Marshall had an 11 season big league career (1981-1991), playing for the Dodgers from 1981-1989. In his career, Marshall hit .270 with 148 homers and 530 RBI and was a one time National League All-Star (1984) and won a World Series ring in 1988.

Hershel Martin - Manager - Inducted posthumously July 23, 2008 (Dukes Retro Night) at Isotopes Park

Martin managed the Albuquerque Dukes club in the Class C West Texas-New Mexico League at Tingley Field for four seasons (1948 to 1951), winning two league titles. Martin compiled a 342-226 (.602) record as Dukes manager and never finished worst than second place in the league in any season at the helm. Martin was a three-time league All-Star as a Dukes player/manager, and in 1948 led the West Texas-New Mexico League in doubles (61) and average (.425).

Martin had blg-league experience - an outfielder from 1937-1940 with the Philadelphia Phillies and 1944-1945 with the New York Yankees. In 1938, Martin was a National League All-Star and finished 30th in National League MVP voting that season.

Tom Bolack, John McMullen - Executives - Inducted posthumously July 23, 2008 (Dukes Retro Night) at Isotopes Park

Bolack, along with McMullen, was instrumental in securing the Dukes relationship with the Dodgers, which lasted 38 seasons (1963-2000). Bolack owned the Dukes from 1956 until 1963 when he sold the club to the Los Angeles Dodgers.

J.D. Kailer - Sportswriter - Inducted July 23, 2008 (Dukes Retro Night) at Isotopes Park

Kailer was an Albuquerque Journal sports editor from 1950 to 1959. Kailer spent many a game during the decade observing the action from the Tingley Field Press Box and writing up reports for the Journal as well as typing up and mailing the official box score to The Sporting News for publication.